Board of Education

The Gaston County school system is governed by a nine-member Board of Education which sets policy and establishes guidelines for school operations. 


Board members are elected on a nonpartisan, county wide basis, with seven representatives chosen from the six townships and two members selected at-large.


All members are experienced, highly educated leaders who are committed to shaping the future of Gaston County.


The Board of Education conducts its regular meeting on the third Monday of each month at the Central Administrative Center, 943 Osceola Street.  The meeting is at 7:00 p.m. 


At each regular monthly Board meeting, an opportunity will be provided for the public to address the Board.  If you would like to speak to the Board (regarding an agenda item), please contact the Communication Department (704-866-6118 or 704-866-6117). 


In addition, citizens may place an item on the Board Agenda by submitting the request in writing to the Superintendent's office no later than ten days preceding the regular monthly meeting. 


The Board also holds a monthly work session meeting and schedules other meetings as needed. The pubic is invited to all Board meetings.


For more information please contact our Board Clerk,

Dana Staves at or 704-866-6115.

Gaston County Schools > Community