C-CATS, Clemson’s Challenge for Academically Talented Students, is a program designed specifically for high achieving 9th and 10th grade students.
C-CATS introduces students to Clemson University through exciting weekend adventures that engage them in the academic, social and recreational best Clemson has to offer.
This program is limited to students in the top 10% of their class ranking.
Ms. Walters, in guidance, will submit Forestview nominations on Dec 16th.
See her if you’re interested in being nominated.
North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics is now accepting applications. The application deadline is January 15th.
The North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics (NCSSM) is a public residential high school for academically talented juniors and seniors. The school offers academic programs designed to educate tomorrow’s scientific and technological leaders.
Summer Ventures in Science and Mathematics (SVSM) is a cost-free, state-funded program for academically talented North Carolina residents who may pursue careers based in science and mathematics. The program brings rising juniors and seniors together in residential settings for intensive study.
Application deadline is January 31st.
A student under age 18 must pass 3 out of 4 courses in a 19 semester to maintain a NC Drivers’ License under state guidelines. Students passing fewer than 3 courses in a semester will receive notification from the statethat his /her license has been suspended until the course requirements are met. Students given an expulsion/suspension for more than 10 (ten) consecutive days for one of the three reasons listed below are subject to having their permit/license suspended for up to one calendar year.
• The possession or sale of an alcoholic beverage or an illegal controlled substance on school property.
• The possession or use on school property of a weapon or firearm that resulted in disciplinary action under G.S. §115C-391(d1) or that could have resulted in that disciplinary action if the conduct had occurred in a
• The physical assault on a teacher or other personnel on school property.
Students who are at least 14 years old or who are rising 8th graders are subject to this law. The law applies to all students, even to those exempted under Dropout Prevention/Driver’s License Legislation. Unlike the Dropout Prevention/Driver’s License Legislation law that ends when a student turns
18 years old, the “Lose Control” law does not stop at age 18, nor does it stop when the student graduates.
Students who may lose their permit/license under this legislation may be eligible to regain the permit/license after a six-month period by displaying exemplary behavior in an alternative education setting or having successfully completed a school district approved drug or alcohol treatment counseling program.
For more information not outlined here, please call the school and speak to Mr. Fuller, his hours are 12-3:30.