Return to Headlines

Brent Moore elected Board of Education chairman

Board of Education conducts organizational meeting; elects chairman and vice chairman

The Gaston County Board of Education conducted its organizational meeting on Monday, December 3 to select a chairman and vice chairman to serve for the next two years.

Brent Moore elected Board of Education Chairman Brent Moore of the Crowders Mountain Township was elected by the Board to serve as chairman, and Kevin Collier of the Riverbend Township was elected to serve as vice chairman.

The organizational meeting took place following the swearing-in ceremony for elected officials, which was held at the Gaston County Courthouse.  During the ceremony, Dot Cherry, Kevin Collier, Justin Davis, Lee Dedmon, and Steve Hall took the oath of office for the Board of Education.

Cherry, Collier, and Dedmon were reelected to the Board during the November 6 election.  Davis, who was appointed to the Board in February, and Hall were elected to the Board in November for the first time.  Hall represents the Dallas Township and replaces Catherine Roberts, who did not seek reelection.

Moore was first elected to the Board of Education in 2016.  Collier is beginning his sixth four-year term on the Board of Education and served as chairman from 2016 until 2018.

The first regular meeting for the newly-organized Board of Education is Monday, December 17 at 4:00 p.m. at the Gaston County Schools Central Office.  The public is invited.

Gaston County Board of Education
▪ Brent Moore, Chairman, Crowders Mountain Township
▪ Kevin Collier, Vice Chairman, Riverbend Township
▪ Dot Cherry, At-Large Member
▪ Justin Davis, South Point Township
▪ Lee Dedmon, Gastonia Township
▪ Dot Guthrie, Gastonia Township
▪ Steve Hall, Dallas Township
▪ Jeff Ramsey, At-Large Member
▪ Terry Usery, Cherryville Township