Return to Headlines

North Gaston yearbook gets national award

North Gaston High School

North Gaston High School earns Yearbook of Excellence distinction

Students on the yearbook staff at North Gaston High School have earned a national recognition.

The school received the 2019 National Yearbook Program of Excellence distinction, which is an award given by Jostens to recognize the best yearbook publications in the United States.

Jostens, the leading producer of yearbooks across the country, presents the distinction for engaging yearbooks that reflect a broad representation of the student body.  The award also recognizes the yearbook staff for its outstanding work to produce a dynamic, quality publication.

North Gaston’s award-winning yearbook staff includes Sydney Armstrong, Payton Ballard, DJ Bishop, Zoey Carson, Caroline Dyke, Justin Helms, Alicia Hutchins, Shyanne Large, Karsyn Monk, Coleman Montgomery, Nate Pasour, Jackson Payne, Dre Rodriguez, Brandi Reavis, Makena Scarlett, Sydney Shugart, Julia Stroud, Cecelia Tolbert, Hannah Trainham, and Synclaire Walters. The yearbook adviser is Jennifer Reed.

The yearbook staff worked tirelessly to achieve the recognition, according to Reed.

“The students made it their goal to qualify for the National Yearbook Program of Excellence, and they worked hard all year long to do so,” she said. “I am so proud them for following through on their goal and earning this important award for their school.”

North Gaston received the honor for meeting the criteria in three categories: creating an inclusive yearbook, generating school engagement, and successfully managing the yearbook creation process.  The yearbook staff received a gem-studded recognition pin and a banner to display at the school. Only 600 schools nationwide received the distinction this year.

“This award is a great accomplishment for our yearbook staff,” said North Gaston principal George Conner.  “It is a major achievement to be recognized on a national level by Jostens. We are very proud of them.”