Return to Headlines

Board recognizes students and employees

Board of Education recognizes students and employees

The Gaston County Board of Education brought attention to the outstanding efforts of schools, students, employees, and business/community partners during the August 20, September 17, and October 15 regular monthly meetings.  Here is a summary of the “Good News” recognition.

◾The Board of Education recognized Forestview High School senior Rogan Smith, who is the first student in Gaston County to successfully complete the state requirements for the North Carolina Pre-Apprentice for Masonry program.  Rogan completed 135 hours of work-based learning with McGee Brothers Masonry.  He is pictured with his mother, Board member Justin Davis, principal Crystal Houser, Career and Technical Education coordinator Heather Forbes, and masonry teacher Charles Austin.

◾The Board of Education recognized Forestview High School German teacher Sabine Schmid-Rankin, who received the Goethe-Institut/AATG Certificate of Merit from the American Association of Teachers of German.  The award is an acknowledgement of her outstanding efforts to advance the teaching of the German language and culture. Ms. Schmid-Rankin will be recognized later this year at the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages annual conference.  She is pictured with Board member Dot Guthrie and principal Crystal Houser.

◾The Board of Education recognized Mount Holly Middle School teacher Heather Wilson and several of her students, who participated in the U.S. National Whitewater Center’s “Build Your Own Boat” competition.  The students’ boat was one of only eight boats to stay intact with all riders inside it while navigating the whitewater channel. The students are pictured with principal Jamie Peoples, assistant principal Michael Dermott, instructional technology facilitators Chris Goodson, Katherine Leatherman, and Lisa Montgomery, and Board chairman Kevin Collier.

◾Superintendent Booker recognized the Board of Education, which received the Gold Bell Award from the North Carolina School Boards Association (NCSBA).  The award is given to Boards of Education that complete training through the NCSBA’s Academy of School Boardsmanship.  All nine members of the Gaston County Board of Education completed the professional development training, which demonstrates commitment and excellence in their role as elected members of the Board of Education.  Gaston County also received this award last year.

◾The Board of Education recognized Scott Harrill, the athletic director at Cherryville High School, who earned the prestigious Certified Athletic Administrator (CAA) designation from the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association.  The certification process included a thorough evaluation of Mr. Harrill’s educational background, experience, and professional contributions and the completion of a comprehensive written exam. He is pictured with Board member Terry Usery and principal Kevin Doran.

◾The Board of Education recognized Cramerton Middle School teacher Britnee Reid, who was one of 224 teachers from across the nation to be selected for the Honeywell Educators at Space Academy program.  The five-day summer program showcased new ideas, activities, and concepts for teachers to incorporate into their classrooms that help inspire students to seek out careers and interests in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math.  Ms. Reid is pictured with Board member Justin Davis.

◾The Board of Education recognized Office Depot, the United Way of Gaston County, and Gastonia Nissan for their efforts to support our school supplies collection.  Office Depot and the United Way helped the“Stuff That Bus!” collection, and Gastonia Nissan sponsored the “Fill the Frontier” collection. Pictured (from left to right) are Board member Lee Dedmon, Office Depot store manager Robert Moore, United Way of Gaston County community impact manager June Jones and Managing Partner of Gastonia Nissan Jeff Viner.

◾The Board of Education recognized Mamie Chisholm, a French teacher at Ashbrook High School, who was named the honorary grand marshal for the “Big 50 Parade.” Mrs. Chisholm began teaching in Gaston County Schools in August 1968 at South Point High School, making her an “original” employee of the unified school district. She later served as the librarian at Woodhill and Lingerfeldt elementary schools before returning to the classroom at Ashbrook. Mrs. Chisholm is pictured with Board member Dot Guthrie.

◾The Board of Education recognized instructional technology facilitators Katherine Leatherman and Jason Mammano, who were chosen to present a session at the International Society for Technology in Education Conference in Chicago.  Their session was titled “The Copyless Classroom,” and it focused on how to blend the use of digital tools and note-taking strategies.  They are pictured with Board member Dot Guthrie.

◾The Board of Education recognized 14 schools for their involvement in the “Pennies for Patients” fundraising program for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society: Mount Holly, Woodhill, Hawks Nest, Sadler, Cramerton, New Hope, W.C. Friday, Beam Intermediate, Robinson, Sherwood, Page, East Gaston, and Stanley. The school representatives are pictured with Robin Shaw of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and Board member Justin Davis.