Return to Headlines

Ceremony honors Star Teachers and Star Students

Star Students in the Class of 2019 honor their Star Teachers

The annual Star Teacher-Student Awards ceremony sponsored by Gaston County Schools and The Gaston Gazette was held Wednesday, May 15 at the Schiele Museum.

The program recognized an outstanding senior from each high school and the teacher who had the greatest influence on the student’s educational career.

Lucy Talley, publisher of The Gaston Gazette, Gaston County Board of Education member Dot Cherry, and Superintendent of Schools W. Jeffrey Booker shared remarks during the program.

Below are the 2019 Star Teacher-Student Awards honorees:

Ashbrook High School – Star Teacher Scott Mason selected by Star Student Zachary Fargher

Bessemer City High School – Star Teacher Susan Carpenter selected by Star Student Henrry Novoa Polanco

Cherryville High School – Star Teacher Robbie Lovelace selected by Star Student Chase Abernathy

Stuart W. Cramer High School - Star Teacher Jo Anne Margolis selected by Star Student Zykevise Gamble

East Gaston High School – Star Teacher Nikki Akins selected by Star Student Aaron Legrand

Forestview High School – Star Teacher Lindsay Dickerson Beverly selected by Star Student Colton McElveen

Gaston Early College High School – Star Teacher Russ Paul selected by Star Student Logan Abee

Highland School of Technology – Star Teacher Matthew Renegar selected by Star Student Karlie Nielson

Hunter Huss High School – Star Teacher David Noblitt selected by Star Student Marcus Mauney

North Gaston High School – Star Teacher Jeffrey Rains selected by Star Student Alyssa Miller

South Point High School – Star Teacher Karmen Teague selected by Star Student Gracie Smith

Webb Street School – Star Teacher Mary Ann Bridges selected by Star Student Victoria Wylie

During the ceremony, each student read an essay about his or her Star Teacher.  To read the essays, click above on the name of the school.