Return to Headlines

Good News from Gaston County Schools, July


Good News, July 2023

Gaston County Schools received the prestigious Golden Eagle Award from the United Way of Gaston County.  The award recognizes the school district’s outstanding participation in the United Way’s annual fundraising campaign.

Four individuals with a connection to Gaston County Schools were presented the 2023 Governor’s Volunteer Service Award by the N.C. Commission on Volunteerism and Community.  The award recipients include Kaitlyn Dockery, a fifth-grade student at W.A. Bess Elementary; Heather Vernitsky, PTO president at Springfield Elementary; Aubrey Bridges, a volunteer at Tryon Elementary School; and Flip Bombardier, a long-time mentor at York Chester Middle School.

The N.C. High School Athletic Association recognized the South Point High School boys’ soccer team and the boys’ tennis team for achieving the highest combined team grade point average in the state for their respective sports.  Additionally, the South Point girls’ golf team and the Stuart W. Cramer High School girls’ golf team finished in a three-way tie for having the highest combined team grade point average in the state. 

Gregory “Trey” Cherry of South Point High School was recognized by the N.C. High School Athletic Association as one of the 12 recipients of the prestigious Heart of a Champion Award.  Additionally, Emma Taylor of Forestview High School was honored for her contributions to the NCHSAA Student-Athlete Advisory Council.

The following high school student-athletes were named to the N.C. Baseball Coaches Association’s all-state team: Ashton Pope, North Gaston; Eli Newsome, Cherryville; Kanon Willis, Cherryville; and Landon Hahn, Cherryville.

In May, students and employees in Gaston County Schools participated in the “Walk for Mental Health” awareness campaign, collectively covering a distance of 12,150 miles.  Among the schools, New Hope Elementary achieved the highest walk total, recording an impressive 3,832 miles.

Bessemer City High School resource officer Jeff Thompson received the Gaston County Employee of the Year award.  He was chosen for the award based on his efforts to encourage students to become involved in community service projects.  Over the past couple of years, Thompson and the school’s Impact Club organized the collection of blankets during the winter months, collected Easter basket items for students at Bessemer City Primary, and assisted with the collection of more than $1,000 worth of school supplies. 

Collin Robinson of Cherryville High School signed a letter of intent to play baseball at Pfeiffer University.
Cherryville Elementary teacher Crystal Christy, Carr Elementary teacher Robin Melton, and Lowell Elementary teacher Celeste Helewski each received a grant from Sonic Drive-In to support classroom projects and initiatives. 
The Cherryville High School golf team won the Southern Piedmont 1A/2A Conference championship and finished as the runner-up in the western 1A regional championship.  Jackson Tedder received all-conference honors and was named the conference player of the year. Blake Tedder, Tyler Stroupe, and Peyton Huffman also received all-conference honors.
During Cherryville High School’s annual winter/spring sports awards ceremony, Landon Hahn and Rileigh Kiser received the Most Outstanding Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards, and Will Fowler and Kendall received the Male and Female Scholastic Athlete of the Year awards.  Additionally, Spencer Powers, a student at Cherryville Elementary School, received the “Heart of the Ironmen” Award; Seth Kaylor received the Ronald “Scoop” Kiser Award; Will Fowler received the McDonald’s/KTC Broadcasting Scholar Athlete Award; Lee Roy Montgomery received the “For the Love of the Game” Award; Scott Jenkins received the “Blue Jacket” Coach of the Year Award; and sports announcer Danny Eaker received the Lifetime Ironmen Booster Award.

A number of Cherryville High School students earned awards and special recognition during the school’s annual winter/spring sports awards ceremony.  Awards recognizing students for their outstanding achievements in athletics were presented to Numarius Good, Landon Hahn, Carson Kelly, Nate Bookout, Chance Hunt, Laila Davis, Krista Davis, and Kate Bookout for basketball; Robbie Bowman, Caleb Hovis, Tobias Miller, Kam Bolin, and Chase Miller for wrestling; Sarah Eaker, Landyn McBride, Anna Leigh Jones, Kylie Reynolds, and Lani Philbeck for cheerleading; Krista Davis, Laila Davis, Landyn McBride, Lexi McSwain, and Ava Miller for softball; Harleigh Williams, Camryn Bell, Tyler Foley, and Steve Wyatt for track and field; Faith McNeill, Gracie Truesdell, Lila Grace Sermersheim, and Kate Bookout for soccer; Nate Bookout and Corey Alston for tennis; and Peyton Huffman, Jackson Tedder, Michael Griffin, and Blake Tedder for golf. 

Patrick Blee and Charlie Birtwistle of South Point High School were named Academic All-Americans by the National High School Coaches Association.

Webb Street School received a donation of $7,000 from The Rooster of Gastonia during the inaugural Rooster Olympics, which featured music vendors, food trucks, games, and raffles.