Return to Headlines

Good News from Gaston County Schools, August


Good News, August 2023

More than 90 beginning teachers participated in the Gaston County Schools Teacher Induction Program for Success (TIPS).  The teachers gathered at Stuart W. Cramer High School to receive information from various departments about district policies and procedures.  They also met by grade levels to learn about content standards, instructional expectations, and classroom management strategies and visited classrooms to get ideas to incorporate into their own.

Thirteen Gaston County Schools teachers were selected to serve as Catalyst Leaders based on their outstanding content, technology, and teaching skills.  They will take on the role of technology-focused mentors and coaches for all teachers.  The Catalyst Leaders are Kristen Bullock, Grier Middle School; Heather Cloninger, McAdenville Elementary; Rachel Drake, Gaston Virtual Academy; Lane Graves, Woodhill Elementary; Megan Guyton, Pinewood Elementary; Barbara Hall, Lowell Elementary; Melissa Harris, Cramerton Middle School; Kayla Hatcher, York Chester Middle School; Amber Manoff, Catawba Heights Elementary; Charli Mims, Robinson Elementary; Rebecca O’Bryon, Pinewood Elementary; Tanya Price, New Hope Elementary; and Tommy Ramkissoon, Gaston Early College of Medical Sciences.

Gaston County Schools’ teachers and administrators attended the Teaching and Learning Conference on August 2-3 at Stuart W. Cramer High School.  The conference featured keynote speakers and a variety of professional development workshops.

Students in Gaston County Schools had the opportunity to attend the “Camp Gaston” summer learning program, which provided a wide variety of academic, enrichment, leadership, and extracurricular activities.

The annual Gaston County Schools Secretaries’ Conference was held on July 13 at Highland School of Technology.  The theme was “Facing the Future – Together.”  The training sessions focused on the Oracle system and payroll, budgeting, purchasing, expenses, and payables.  Many other topics were covered such as school funds online, Google and technology, policies and procedures, Synovia transportation system, sales tax requirements, safety, and Title I spending.

The Gaston County Schools summer nutrition program provided approximately 109,000 meals for students.  Breakfast and lunch meals were made available at various locations across the county.

Teachers, administrators, and school personnel from Carr Elementary, Costner Elementary, W.C. Friday Middle, Highland School of Technology, North Gaston High School, and Woodhill Elementary enjoyed a back-to-school breakfast that was sponsored by Rankin Lake Baptist Church.  This is the 19th year for the breakfast, which is the church’s way of showing appreciation for teachers and school staff.

The Carolina Panthers in partnership with Classroom Central provided backpacks and school supplies for students at Bessemer City Central Elementary, Bessemer City Primary, Brookside Elementary, Chapel Grove Elementary, Gardner Park Elementary, Lingerfeldt Elementary, Lowell Elementary, Pleasant Ridge Elementary, and Sadler Elementary

The Belmont Police Department wrapped up a school supply drive on August 12 in Stowe Park. The supplies were delivered to staff at Belmont Central Elementary, North Belmont Elementary, Page Primary, and South Point High School.

The W.A. Bess Elementary PTO organized a beautification day prior to the start of school. Quality Landscape Design and Maintenance, SiteOne Landscaping, and Belmont Nursery provided plants and materials.

Lutheran Chapel Church donated school supplies to Bessemer City Central Elementary.

Bessemer City Middle School received $1,000 worth of school supplies from First Wesleyan Church. 

Students Emmit Robertson and Dylan Caldwell of W.A. Bess Elementary attended the National Youth Leadership Forum at N.C. State University.  They gained knowledge about science, technology, engineering, and math and also took part in hands-on activities to prepare for careers as inventors, engineers, doctors, and more.

Carr Elementary received a donation of school supplies from Dallas Baptist Church and Fraley Memorial Baptist Church.  In addition, Alan and Cathy Cloninger donated clothes, coats, backpacks, and school supplies.

Catawba Freewill Baptist Church donated 48 backpacks filled with school supplies for students at Catawba Heights Elementary. In addition, Hickory Grove Baptist Church provided a back-to-school breakfast and door prizes for the staff.

As part of the company’s “Back-to-School Blitz,” Piedmont Lithium donated $1,500 to Beam Intermediate School, $3,400 to Chavis Middle School, and $2,800 to Cherryville Elementary.

The following Forestview High School students in the Class of 2023 earned the Advanced Placement (AP) Capstone Diploma: Savannah McLemore, Yash Patel, Mary Peyton, Sarah Shiflet, Anna Sprague, Ariana Tsehaie, Christian Tyler, and Sarah Younan.  To earn the AP Capstone Diploma, students must earn scores of three or higher in AP Seminar and AP Research and on four additional AP exams. 

The Zeta Phi Beta Sorority - Beta Mu Zeta Chapter served breakfast to Lingerfeldt Elementary staff, and Marcus Mauney, a former student now attending Yale University, shared about how teachers greatly influenced his life.

A&K Painting donated 50 “Buckets of Love” for the staff at Pleasant Ridge Elementary.  The company has been providing school supplies to Gaston County Schools for eight consecutive years. During the summer, the company’s workers spent time putting together different supply buckets that included paper, pencils, tissues, hand sanitizer, and more. 

Sadler Elementary received school supplies and backpacks from Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity.

South Point High School was recognized by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association as the Big South 3A Wells Fargo Conference Cup winner.  The school collected conference championships in boys and girls cross country, girls golf, boys basketball, baseball, and girls soccer.

Southwest Middle School teacher Angela Sanders was chosen as the Technology Student Association (TSA) Adviser of the Year at the TSA national conference in Louisville, Kentucky.  She was recognized for her commitment to helping students develop important career and life skills.