• Class of 2024 offered more than $28.3 million in scholarships and grants

    Photo of Naami Abbey receiving her diploma at graduation.
    Naami Abbey of Forestview High School was named a Levine Scholar at UNC-Charlotte.

    Forestview High School graduate chosen as a Levine Scholar, landing UNC-Charlotte’s most prestigious scholarship

    You’ve heard the idiom, “rolling in dough.”  Well, that is exactly what graduates in the Gaston County Schools Class of 2024 are doing.  With high school graduation complete, many seniors are headed off to college, and they have earned plenty of money to help pay for their education.

    The Class of 2024 was awarded more than $28.3 million in scholarships and grants to attend some of the most prestigious colleges and universities in the state and across the nation.  The $28.3 million figure was calculated at the end of the school year so it’s possible that even more money has come our graduates’ way to aid in paying for college.

    For Forestview High School graduate Naami Abbey, she was overjoyed to learn that she is one of only 20 students nationwide to earn the UNC-Charlotte Levine Scholarship.  It’s worth an estimated $115,000 over four years and is the college’s most prestigious merit-based scholarship.  As a Levine Scholar, Abbey plans to double major in biology and biomedical engineering while on a pre-medicine pathway.  Her goal is to work as a medical doctor for underserved communities.

    Abbey’s list of accomplishments is impressive.  As a member of Forestview’s Collegiate Prep Academy, she graduated as a candidate for the Advanced Placement (AP) Capstone Diploma with summa cum laude honors.  She even had research published on the topic, “The Emotional and Neurological Effects of Hormonal Contraceptives on Adolescents.”  In addition to serving in various leadership roles such as president of the Beta Club, vice president of the student council, Battle of the Books team leader, athletic trainer student aide, and captain of the dance team, Abbey earned AP Scholar and National African American Recognition academic awards from the College Board.  She even established and coordinated a book drive for children in the Nzulezu Village of Ghana, West Africa.

    Additionally, Abbey earned membership in the National Honor Society and National Technical Honor Society.  She was Forestview’s nominee for the U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education recognition and received the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) Good Citizen Award.    

    Abbey understands the importance of getting a good education because it sets the stage for future success.  That’s why she plans to take advantage of everything that being a Levine Scholar offers.  Her advice to fellow graduates in the Class of 2024: “It is my hope to inspire others to prioritize their education and the many opportunities they get from it.” 

Outstanding Scholars

  • We are proud of the graduates in the Gaston County Schools Class of 2024, who earned a share of the $28.3 million in scholarships and grants that was awarded to seniors.

    Frances Ilevbare of Stuart W. Cramer High School received the N.C. State University Goodnight Scholarship.  The scholarship is valued at $23,000 per year.  Goodnight Scholars are identified as students with promise in STEM-related fields.

    ▪ Riley Rouse of Forestview High School was awarded the Strong Like AK Scholarship.  The local scholarship program honors the legacy of Adam Kincaid and brings attention to pediatric cancer.  To date, the Strong Like AK organization has awarded $25,000 in scholarships to seniors in Gaston County Schools. 

    ▪ Jerome Butler of Highland School of Technology received the Benjamin N. Duke Scholarship valued at $356,000 over four years. The scholarship recognizes students from the Carolinas who excel academically, engage their communities, and aspire to become leaders at Duke University and beyond.

    ▪ Lydia Walls of East Gaston High School was named the Spectrum News High School Scholar, winning a $1,000 scholarship.  Walls, who will attend N.C. State University to major in biomedical engineering, was the 2023 overall winner in the Gaston Regional Science and Engineering Fair for her research project that focused on obesity and its effects on the lungs.  

     ▪ Kendal Boone and Myla Hoover of Hunter Huss High School earned the United States Army ROTC Scholarship.  They were actively involved in the Hunter Huss JROTC, which is a leadership training and development program that prepares high school students for career opportunities in the military.

    Avery Davis of Highland School of Technology received the William and Lee University Johnson Scholarship valued at $376,000 over four years.  The Johnson Scholarship is awarded to only 44 incoming students each year. 
    Jacob Logan of South Point High School received a scholarship valued at $157,000 to attend Howard University in Washington, D.C.  Howard University is known for its distinction as a premier research institution.

    Dawson Tobin of South Point High School earned a prestigious appointment to the United States Military Academy at West Point.  The appointment’s accompanying scholarship is valued at more than $250,000.

    Aissatou Diouf of Ashbrook High School received the Wayne F. Shovelin Scholarship, which is valued at $80,000 over four years.  The scholarship is given by CaroMont Health to a student who seeks a career in healthcare.  She will attend UNC-Chapel Hill to double major in biology and public health.

    Naami Abbey of Forestview High School is the recipient of the Levine Scholarship at UNC-Charlotte.  She is one of only 20 students to earn the UNC-Charlotte’s most prestigious merit scholarship, which is valued at $115,000.

    Samantha Narciso of South Point High School received a highly-competitive QuestBridge Scholarship valued at more than $400,000 to attend Boston College.  She plans to pursue a career in the medical field as a nurse practitioner.  

    Mya Rivers of Highland School of Technology and Jensine Vasquez of North Gaston High School received the Paul Fuller Scholarship, which is given to seniors who were involved in the Gaston County Schools mentoring program.  They will receive a $1,000 scholarship renewable for four years.

    Kenedi Armstrong and Kendal Boone of Hunter Huss High School, Lauren Arthurs and Gabriella Tracy of South Point High School, Ella Hamilton and Anna Kate Robb of East Gaston High School, and Chandandeep Chahil of Gaston Early College of Medical Sciences received the Albert G. Myers Scholarship, which is valued at $20,000 over four years.  The scholarship program, which honors the legacy of prominent business leader and philanthropist Albert G. Myers, has awarded scholarships to students for more than 50 years.