• Board of Education selects chairman and vice chairman during organizational meeting

    The Gaston County Board of Education conducted its organizational meeting on Monday, December 5 to select a chairman and vice chairman to serve for the next two years.

    At-large member Jeff Ramsey was chosen by the Board to serve again as chairman, and at-large member Dot Cherry was chosen to serve again as vice chairman.  The votes were unanimous.  Ramsey and Cherry held the top leadership roles previously (2020-2022).  

    The organizational meeting took place following the 9:00 a.m. induction/swearing-in ceremony for elected officials at the Gaston County Courthouse.  Dot Cherry, Josh Crisp, Lee Dedmon, Tod Kinlaw, and A.M. Stephens took the oath of office to serve on the Board of Education for the next four years (2022-2026).  

    Cherry and Dedmon were re-elected to the Board during the November 8 general election.  Crisp, Kinlaw, and Stephens were elected to the Board for the first time.  Crisp represents the Dallas Township, Kinlaw represents the South Point Township, and Stephens represents the Riverbend Township.

    Following the organizational meeting, the Board conducted its regular meeting for the month of December, which was originally scheduled for December 19 – no meeting will be held on December 19.  The Board’s next meeting is Friday, January 27 during its annual retreat/work session.

    Gaston County Board of Education
    ▪ Jeff Ramsey, At-Large Member, Chairman
    ▪ Dot Cherry, At-Large Member, Vice Chairman
    ▪ Josh Crisp, Dallas Township
    ▪ Lee Dedmon, Gastonia Township
    ▪ Dot Guthrie, Gastonia Township
    ▪ Tod Kinlaw, South Point Township
    ▪ Robbie Lovelace, Cherryville Township
    ▪ Brent Moore, Crowders Mountain Township
    ▪ A.M. Stephens, Riverbend Township