Return to Headlines

High schools to conduct graduation ceremonies

Graduation Information - Class of 2022

High schools to conduct graduation ceremonies for Class of 2022

Graduation for Gaston County Schools is Saturday, June 4, and ten high schools will conduct ceremonies that day to present diplomas to the Class of 2022.  This year, more than 1,900 seniors will graduate from Gaston County Schools.  

Ashbrook, Bessemer City, Cherryville, Stuart W. Cramer, East Gaston, Forestview, Hunter Huss, North Gaston, and South Point will hold graduation on Saturday, June 4 at 9:00 a.m.  Each school will hold its ceremony outdoors in the stadium.  Highland’s graduation ceremony is Saturday, June 4 at 11:00 a.m. in the school’s auditorium. 

Tickets are required for entry into the graduation ceremony.  Each school will communicate with students/families about the number of tickets that will be allotted for each senior.  Anyone with questions about tickets should contact the school.  In the event of inclement weather, the outdoor ceremonies will be moved indoors.

In addition to ceremonies at the 10 traditional high schools, ceremonies will be held for three other schools with a graduating class.

Graduation exercises for the Gaston County Virtual Academy, Webb Street School, and Warlick Academy take place on Wednesday, June 1.  The Virtual Academy ceremony is at 9:00 a.m. at the Gastonia Conference Center.  The Webb Street ceremony is at 12:00 p.m. in the school’s gymnasium, and the Warlick ceremony is at 2:00 p.m. in the school’s gymnasium. 

The Gaston Early College High School has already conducted its graduation.  The ceremony was held on Thursday, May 19 on the front lawn of Morris Library at Gaston College in Dallas.  Diplomas were presented to 51 students.  Click here for pictures from the Early College ceremony.

Graduation Reminders  
Each high school graduation is a well-planned, formal ceremony intended to highlight each senior.  To ensure that each graduate’s name is heard by everyone, attendees should refrain from boisterous applause and celebration until all graduates have received their diploma. 

All high schools have a comprehensive safety plan for graduation, and school officials have spent time working with local law enforcement to ensure that graduation is an enjoyable experience for everyone in attendance.  To ensure safety, the following procedures will be in place:

▪ Each school will have additional security personnel – a police presence will be noticeable on campus.

▪ Attendees should arrive early and be prepared to stand in line to enter the ceremony.

▪ Metal detectors (walk-through units and hand-held wands) will be used.  Everyone at graduation, including students, parents, relatives, school personnel, and guests, will be subject to metal detection screening.

 ▪ Attendees are discouraged from bringing purses and handbags to graduation.  Purses/handbags must be screened, which is a process that slows down the entrance line.

 ▪ Traffic congestion is likely near the high schools beginning one hour before the start of graduation.  Attendees should plan accordingly to allow enough time for parking and entering the ceremony.

 ▪ Being vigilant is important.  Anyone who sees or is aware of suspicious activity at graduation should contact a school official or law enforcement immediately.

Special Guests
Each graduation ceremony will have its share of speakers and special guests.  Traditionally, each school’s valedictorian and salutatorian shares remarks as does the principal and other student representatives.  Board of Education members are among the guests on hand to congratulate the graduating class.

Here is a list of the Board of Education members and which graduation ceremony they will attend on June 4: 
▪ Ashbrook: Jeff Ramsey, Chairman, At-Large Member
▪ Bessemer City: Brent Moore, Crowders Mountain Township
▪ Cherryville: Robbie Lovelace, Cherryville Township
▪ Stuart W. Cramer: Justin Davis, South Point Township
▪ Forestview: Steve Hall, Dallas Township, and Kevin Collier, Riverbend Township
▪ Highland: Lee Dedmon, Gastonia Township, Dot Guthrie, Gastonia Township, and Superintendent of Schools W. Jeffrey Booker 
▪ Hunter Huss: Dot Cherry, Vice Chairman, At-Large Member
▪ North Gaston: Lee Dedmon, Gastonia Township
▪ South Point: Dot Guthrie, Gastonia Township, and Superintendent of Schools W. Jeffrey Booker 

All Board members are invited to attend the Gaston County Virtual Academy, Warlick Academy, and Webb Street School graduation ceremonies on June 1.

Class of 2022 Links
Click here to meet the Star Students in the Class of 2022 and their Star Teachers.
Click here to watch our Star Teacher-Student Student Awards Ceremony.
Click here for a PDF of our Star Teachers-Star Students page in The Gaston Gazette.
Click here to visit our Facebook page to read about our Outstanding Seniors (one from each high school) in the Class of 2022.  Two profiles will be posted each day on Facebook, May 25-31.