Return to Headlines

Good News from Gaston County Schools, June


Gaston County Schools had 26 students in the Class of 2024 to earn valedictorian or salutatorian honors. The students were recognized during high school graduation for their commitment to academic excellence.

Kameron Kee of Ashbrook High School achieved 13 years of perfect attendance. During her high school’s graduation ceremony, she received a perfect attendance plaque from the Gaston County Board of Education in recognition of her outstanding accomplishment.

Gaston County Schools held a Career Signing Day program for 10 seniors to sign a “letter of intent” and accept a job offer with one of seven companies.  The following students were recognized during the program: Wesley Gates, Ashbrook High School, GSM Services; David Ogden, Ashbrook High School, GSM Services; Kaden Kromis, North Gaston High School, Toyota of Gastonia; Raleigh Trite, East Gaston High School, Toyota of Gastonia; Henry Cox, East Gaston High School; Toyota of Gastonia; Jose Jimenez-Lara, Forestview High School; United States Marines; Elijah Herron, North Gaston High School, Agricultural Center Fire Department; Connor Jones, North Gaston High School, Gaston County Government; Ranley Clayton, Ashbrook High School, Covenant Village; and Omarrus Holland, Stuart W. Cramer High School, EdyMac Plumbing.

Gaston County Schools recognized four outstanding bus drivers during the school district’s annual transportation banquet. Michael Mongillo of Kiser Elementary, Nicole Christina of Holbrook Middle, Melvin McCorkle of Forestview High School, and Jessie Wilson of Webb Street School were presented the Tracy Lea Calhoun Award. The honor goes to school bus drivers who have made a significant contribution to the school transportation profession and bus safety. In addition, Sy Gilbert was recognized as the Transportation Department Employee of the Year.

Kevin Doran, principal at Cramerton Middle School, was selected as the GCAEOP (Gaston County Association of Educational Office Professionals) Administrator of the Year, and Tammy Wade, budget analyst for Academic Services, was selected as the GCAEOP Educational Office Professional of the Year. GCAEOP also presented its annual scholarships to Connor Redmond of Highland School of Technology and Grace Woliver of South Point High School. 

Seniors in the Gaston County Schools Class of 2024 were awarded more than $28.3 million in college scholarships and grants.

Bryson Lomick of South Point High School won the 200-meter dash and placed second in the 100-meter dash. Additionally, Camryn Massey of Ashbrook High School achieved her fifth and sixth state championships, securing first place in the discus throw and shot put competitions.

Cherryville High School senior Lillyann Chambers received the Piedmont Lithium Power of Life Scholarship valued at $2,000.

Naami Abbey of Forestview High School was one of 20 students nationwide to be named a Levine Scholar at UNC-Charlotte.  The scholarship is valued at $115,000 over four years and is the most prestigious merit award offered by the university.  She plans to major in biology and biomedical engineering while on a pre-medicine pathway.  

New Hope Elementary student Adele St. Romaine won the “Proudest Kid in Gaston County” essay contest, which is sponsored by Gaston Together.

Pleasant Ridge Elementary competed in the North Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics’ state math fair. Emily Kiser’s kindergarten class won first place in the K-2 class projects division. In addition, first grade students Esmeralda Miller and Anam Fatima won first place in the individual K-2 division, and third grader Golden McKinney was an honorable mention winner in the individual Grades 3-4 division.

South Point High School senior Colin McAlister was named a Wood Family Scholar at UNC-Chapel Hill. The scholarship award is valued at $36,000.

The South Point High School boys’ tennis team won the 3A dual championship and finished the season with a perfect 16-0 record. Shiv Patel and Brandon Cunningham won the doubles match, and Shiv Patel, the MVP, won his singles match.  Other singles wins came from James Dover, Brandon Cunningham, and Tyler Cunningham. Additionally, Asher Dover was named a 2024 N.C. Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award winner.

The South Point High School girls’ soccer team secured their second consecutive trip to the North Carolina High School Athletic Association (NCHSAA) 3A state championship.  The team finished the season as Big South 3A Conference champions with a record of 18-3-2, despite a loss in the state championship to Jacksonville.  Senior Madison Dudley was honored before the game as the NCHSAA Sportsmanship Award winner. Additionally, junior Grace Maynard was named to the North Carolina Soccer Coaches Association (NCSCA) 3A all-state team.