Pre-Kindergarten Staff and Specialists

  • Our Pre-K Specialists are experienced and former Pre-K teachers who provide classroom support and mentoring to the Pre-K teachers. They help ensure that teachers maintain high quality standards in their classrooms. The Specialists visit classrooms and coach teachers using reflective practice to improve instruction. They assist teachers with planning the environment, developing lesson plans, conducting assessments, and guiding children’s behaviors. The Specialists also assist in planning professional development experiences for all teachers.

    • Deana Murphy, Director of Pre-Kindergarten Services
      Email:  dkmurphy@gaston.k12.nc.us
      Phone: 704-866-6160

    • Ashley Brown, Compliance Facilitator
      Email: ambrown@gaston.k12.nc.us
      Phone: 704-810-8805
      Ashley works on the compliance side of Pre-K, ensuring all licensing requirements are met and Pre-K guidance is followed.

    • Michelle Blanco, Placement Specialist
      Email: mablanco@gaston.k12.nc.us
      Phone: 704-866-6124
      Michelle works with student applications, processing and placement in accordance with NCPK guidelines and provides support to parents in English and Spanish.

    • Stephanie Watts, Pre-K Specialist
      Email: sawatts@gaston.k12.nc.us
      Phone: 704-810-8839
      Stephanie coordinates and supports curriculum and assessment implementation as well as professional development opportunities for Pre-K teachers and teaching assistants. These endeavors are supported by, and shared with, the Part-Time Pre-K Specialists. She provides support to Spanish-speaking families related to registration and classroom/education needs, as well as supporting classroom teachers with implementation of curriculum for English Language Learners.  
               
    • Lisa Fox, Part-Time Pre-K Specialist
      Email: lsfox@gaston.k12.nc.us

    • Victoria Caldwell, Part-Time Pre-K Specialist
       Email: vscaldwell@gaston.k12.nc.us

    • Erika Reynolds, Behavior Specialist
      Email: ejreynolds@gaston.k12.nc.us
      Phone: 704-866-6124
      Erika assists teachers with any behavior concerns in the classroom, inputs and tracks BIRS (Behavior Incident Reporting System) information, trains and helps with the implementation of behavior strategies. .